Every so often, as someone who has registered hundreds of domain names, I am bound to get some domain name spam every so often. But this one was really quite fun so I thought I’d share. Sent to a collegue of mine, a Mr Ben Carey who (besides still owing me a blog post for this blog) has a very popular boxing site @britishboxing.
Anyway, it was the standard “someone wants to buy your domain and “network brand” from a Mr Jerry Dong in China…Let’s pick up with the proforma scam mail.
(It’s very urgent, Please transfer this email to your CEO or appropriate person, Thanks)
Dear CEO/Principal,
This is Jerry Dong—Senior Consultant of domain name registration and solution center in china. have something to confirm with you. We formally received an application on July 5, 2010, one company which self-styled “Everyboi Company” were applying to register “jimsdomain” as Network Brand and following domain names:
”
jimsdomain.asia
jimsdomain.co.in
jimsdomain.com.hk
jimsdomain.com.tw
jimsdomain.hk
jimsdomain.in
jimsdomain.net.cn
jimsdomain.org.cn
jimsdomain.tw ”
After our initial checking, we found the name were similar to your company’s, so we need to check with you whether your company has authorized that company to register these names. If you authorized this, we will finish the registration at once. If you did not authorize, please let us know within 7 workdays, so that we will handle this issue better. Out of the time limit we will unconditionally finish the registration for “Everyboi Company”.
Best Regards,
Jerry Dong
Continue reading →
Recent Comments